Thursday, September 28, 2023

Safe States Alliance Announces New Board Members

Public health professionals from North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Washington, Tennessee, Texas, and Washington elected to serve on the Safe States Alliance Executive Committee

New Board Members

Image of 6 new Safe States board members and their titles

The Safe States Alliance announces the election of respected injury and violence prevention (IVP) professionals to its Executive Committee (Board). These new Board members will bring a wealth of experience, expertise, and diverse perspectives, further strengthening the organization's leadership.

This year's candidates represented diverse backgrounds and skill sets, reflecting Safe States' commitment to ensuring diversity, equity, and inclusion in our field. The following individuals, bringing decades of public health experience and expertise across injury and violence prevention topics, will join the 12-person committee on October 1:


  • Laura Chisholm, MPH, Injury and Violence Prevention Section Manager, Oregon Health Authority


  • Siarra Scott, MPH, Project Manager, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Injury Prevention Research Center


  • Allyson Fulton, ME, Assistant Director, American Trauma Society, PA Division (ATSPA) 
  • Tony Gomez, BS, Manager of Violence and Injury Prevention, Public Health Seattle and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. County 
  • Ashley Lamar, MPH, Trauma Injury Prevention Specialist, JPS Health Network
  • Terrence (Terry) Love, MS, Injury Prevention Program Director, Tennessee Department of Health

Learn more about the incoming Board members here.

"As I finish my term as the President of Safe States, I am thrilled to welcome these new Executive Committee members to our Board," stated Peg Ogea-Ginsburg. "They are representative of our continually growing and changing membership and will be an asset as our work in IVP continues." 

The incoming Board members join six returning members, providing Safe States with impressive collective expertise to drive strategic decisions, foster innovation, and guide the organization toward continued success.

Safe States incoming President Lisa Roth commented: "I look forward to working with the Board to forge innovative pathways, unlock fresh perspectives, and empower our shared mission to create a safer, healthier world for all."

Safe States thanks outgoing Board members for their invaluable contributions and dedication to the organization's growth.

Formed in 1993, the Safe States Alliance is the only national non-profit organization and professional association comprised of public health injury and violence prevention professionals representing all U.S. states and territories. Safe States' mission is to strengthen the practice of injury and violence prevention and be the recognized leader and driving force in understanding and preventing injuries and violence, a leading cause of death for ages 1-64 in the U.S.

Contact Information:
Richard Hamburg
Executive Director
[email protected]

Sharon Gilmartin
Deputy Director
[email protected]

Julie Alonso
Senior Manager Program and Communications
[email protected]

Original Source: Safe States Alliance Announces New Board Members
- Advertisement -Reality tv gossip
- Advertisement -publish press release online

SIEGENTHALER SS24 during Paris Fashion Week

SIEGENTHALER SS24 Spring-Summer 2024 during Paris Fashion WeekFIRST COLLECTION: LORE GENESIS"A star blitzballer, spirited and...
Latest News
Must Read